I had a conversation via Twitter a while ago with Dr. Steve Perry (Save My Son) regarding his idea that popular video games should entail an educational component. I seconded the idea, considering my own son’s obsession with video games, and any extent that he’d go to break a code. Imagine what would happen if a code breaker was the answer to a challenging math problem or any other concept that would be appropriate for the age group of the game players–considerable academic improvement, I’m sure! Dr. Perry and several others re-tweeted me. I hope that the popular video game designers, who should form relationships with school districts, took note. I and other parents and schools, etc., I’m sure, would readily purchase content-appropriate popular video games that encourage learning. Due to the love of the games, the prescribed would very likely prove among the most powerful methods of learning.

