Tags

I was very concerned when my daughter was not permitted to attend pre-K due to cuts in the program. So I rolled up my sleeves and taught her everything she needed to know, and more, to be prepared for her first year of school.

Since my daughter started attending school this year, I’ve expanded upon her instructor’s suggestion to utilize index cards to write, show, and daily recite upper and lower case letters and site words to her, and to have her to recite the letters and words to me.

I added the days of the week and months of the year to the index cards, and now my little future doctor not only knows her days of the week and months of the year in their intrinsic order, she can read them in any arrangement. She can also read her site words, count to 100 by ones and tens, without error, write her first and last name, et cetera, et cetera.

My little girl, who’d also like to moonlight as a PowerRanger some day, is a Tier 1 student, while the vast percentage of her more privileged classmates are “Tier 3.”

This speaks to the very powerful affect that a parent’s small investment of time [and into index cards, in this context] can have on a child’s learning and ultimate success.

