Tags

, ,

My daughter’s classroom at the elementary school that she attends is separated by a wall from other open classrooms for her grade, without a window. I do not like this at all, particularly considering merited concerns that I’ve had regarding treatment of both my daughter and my son and merited concerns that I’ve had with my own treatment as a substitute paraprofessional at the same school, despite my effectiveness as an educator, the impact that I’ve had on Shelby County Schools, and the fact that I/my children have never deserved disparate treatment…

Though I do believe that students benefit from fewer distractions in traditionally enclosed classrooms, I also believe that all classrooms should be viewable from within school buildings, or have windows on their doors that can readily be peered into.                                                                        This promotes educational transparency and integrity by encouraging propriety and classroom safety, or an environment that is conducive to wholesome student development.

