Attending today’s ACT Prep University was likely a challenge for everyone who did show up today. Getting out of bed early on a Saturday morning is difficult, and I commend all students who showed up today. I hope that the students who did not show up today attend all other sessions and receive any information that they missed…

I was elated to see the projector that was utilized in today’s session. I was disappointed, however, that it was only utilized for the English portion of today’s practice and to exhibit the online time clock for timing each practice quiz.

The projector gave parents like me and other attendees like my second-grade daughter, who started college-level writing* assignments her first year in elementary school, the opportunity to see the questions that ACT Prep students were working on (*I actually cued for my daughter to pay attention)…

All of the ACT practice questions for every subject, including math, should be viewable from the projector, and each relevant success coach should review every question on each practice quiz instead of merely reviewing or explaining the answers to questions that students ask about and instead of otherwise simply giving the answers to those questions that students do not ask about…

A classroom response system where students would electronically submit their answers to questions via use of clickers would additionally help success coaches see which answers students miss and need help with.

A system of the sort that would produce reports for specific students explaining where they went wrong answering missed problems would be even more exemplary, and should be used in all schools…

I observed that there were fewer questions today, and no queries for a number of questions that students did not get right, and though the success coaches welcomed all questions. Additionally, only three of the four rationed hours was spent on ACT prep study.

The students were lead to the U of M’s theater in the University Center until dismissal for a bit of recreational time, which was certainly merited. It gave students time to mingle and see that college isn’t all intense studying; one of the perks of attending college is fun campus events. Juxtapose a raffle and prize give-aways, the students competed in an ABC game that required naming products in Wal-Mart stores and celebrities whose names began with called letters, this for an on-stage opportunity.

I did not like the idea of exclusively hot chips for snacks, which were actually distributed in-class. I did not allow my daughter to get them, and I did not want my son eating them either. The Kool-Aid Jammers were okay…

In summation and conclusion, I want to reiterate the importance of making the most of ACT Prep University in the academic sense. Otherwise it would be primarily a gathering of students from all over the city acquiring answers to questions with yet little to no understanding in their troubled areas.

