Safelink and all government-issued low income phones should issue local phone numbers to customers that are really based on the specific addresses/cities, states, and zip codes where they reside. Per Safelink/Tracfone, they do not offer phone numbers in the 901… area code, though they briefly issued me a number with a 901… area code that I changed after this particular number was “transferred to another device” that didn’t belong to me, without my permission.

The incident really perked my antennas—I reflected on a question that I was asked that I could not answer while completing my income tax return this year via Turbo Tax about a residence* on “Camp Ground Road,” where I have never resided.

(*Despite our recent move from 4050 Camelot Lane, Apt. #3 to a house several streets over, we are still in the same 38118 area code in Memphis, Tennessee). I further considered other matters that have prompted me to believe that I am a victim of identity theft, and thought of how attachment of the erroneous 662 area code to my Safelink phone could make matters worse…

Issuance of long distance area codes to Safelink and other government-issued low income mobile phones raises a number of issues; for one, it is a misrepresentation of information, and it heightens the potential for identity theft…

It can additionally and significantly increase long distance charges on clients’ residential phones, when family and/or others make calls to the Safelink or other government-issued mobile phones from their home phones.

This was my own personal experience—My children made a number of calls from our home phone to the Safelink phone that I had, and when we received our home phone bill it was inundated with costly charges for calls made to the Safelink phone that, according to the bill, was an Olive Branch, Mississippi number, noting that I’ve never resided in Olive Branch, Mississippi…

Attaching long distance phone numbers to Safelink and other government-issued low income mobile phones essentially defeats the purpose of the program, which is or should be to decrease the telephonic costs of qualifying participants.

